Learn to Shoot

MasterWorks VII

Saturday, April 26 - 7:30 PM

Welcome aboard on our grand voyage through Ralph Vaughan Williams’ Symphony No. 1 “A Sea Symphony”. With a text taken from American poet Walt Whitman’s Leaves of Grass, the piece tells of the ocean itself, with its whistling winds and racing waves, while also exploring the sea as a metaphor for the journey of the soul through time and space and through this life into that which is to come.
The Canton Symphony Chorus is joined by Grammy award-winning bass-baritone Dashon Burton and soprano Bonnie Frauenthal for this monumental epic, never performed in Canton until now. Opening the concert is A Sea Poem by Irish composer Ina Boyle, a student of Vaughan Williams. Music Director Matthew Jenkins Jaroszewicz is thrilled to close the season with his favorite piece of music ever composed, and is honored to invite you along for the ride!
• A Sea Poem – Ina Boyle
• Symphony No. 1 “A Sea Symphony”– Ralph Vaughan Williams
Presenting Sponsor: David Jones
Additional support provided by: ArtsinStark, Visit Canton, and Ohio Arts Council


2331 17th St. NW
Canton, OH 44708
Event Type


Canton Symphony Orchestra

Date / Time

Saturday, April 26, 2025
7:30 PM - 9:45 PM