Flea Market of Collectables

MasterWorks III

Saturday, November 23 - 7:30 PM

Opening the evening is ragtime king Scott Joplin’s overture to his only opera, Treemonisha. As with Gershwin, Aaron Copland took inspiration from and incorporated elements of jazz and vaudeville into his Music for the Theatre. Victor Herbert’s A Suite of Serenades, four short movements inspired by the sights and sounds of exotic lands, was premiered at the same concert as Rhapsody in Blue in 1924. Additionally, Fenwick will perform the parody-filled first piano concerto of Dmitri Shostakovich, which also prominently features our principal trumpet player, Justin Kohan.
• Overture to Treemonisha – Scott Joplin
• A Suite of Serenades – Victor Herbert
• Piano Concerto No. 1 – Dmitri Shostakovich
• Music for the Theatre – Aaron Copland
• Rhapsody in Blue – George Gershwin
Presented by: Larry & Nancy Hoover
Co-Sponsored by: Linda & Leo Casey
Additional support provided by: Visit Canton, ArtsinStark, and the Ohio Arts Council


2331 17th St. NW
Canton, OH 44708
Event Type


Canton Symphony Orchestra

Date / Time

Saturday, November 23, 2024
7:30 PM - 9:45 PM